Indonesia Expat
Featured Info for Expats News

Omicron: International Arrivals to Quarantine for Seven Days


The government has decided to increase the quarantine time for foreigners and Indonesian citizens who enter Indonesia to seven days, up from the previous three.

The move is a further attempt to prevent the spread of the omicron variant.

According to Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan in an online press conference on Sunday 28th November, this policy will be implemented from Monday 29th November 2021 at 00:01, in response to the emergence of the omicron variant. 

The government will also increase the quarantine time for foreigners and Indonesian citizens from abroad outside the countries listed in point A to seven days from the previous three days,” said Luhut.

The countries that the minister refers to as “point A” are: 

  • South Africa
  • Botswana
  • Namibia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Malawi
  • Angola
  • Zambia 
  • Hong Kong

“The entry ban on foreigners who have a history of travelling within the past 14 days to South African countries, Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, Malawi, Angola, and Zambia, plus Hong Kong takes effect on Monday 29th November too,” said Luhut.

Another new policy is that Indonesian citizens who enter Indonesia and have been in these countries will be required to quarantine for 14 days. 


Related posts

Fire and Flood

Indonesia Expat

Four Arrested For Placing Fake GoJek Orders

Indonesia Expat

NatGeo: Bantar Gebang is the World’s Largest Dumping Ground

Indonesia Expat