Indonesia Expat
Featured News

Status of 19 Volcanoes Around Indonesia Raised to “Caution”

The statuses of 19 volcanoes throughout the country have been raised to waspada (caution), the second-highest level.

Downstream Oil and Gas Regulatory Agency (BPH Migas) head Fanshurullah Asa told Antara on Monday that the public was advised to stay calm and wait for further information from relevant agencies.

The 19 volcanoes are Marapi, Kerinci, Dempo, Anak Krakatau, Merapi, Semeru, Bromo, Rinjani, Sangeangapi, Rokatenda, Soputan, Lokon, Karangetang, Gamalama, Gamkonara, Ibu, Dukono, Lewotolok and Banda Api.

Meanwhile, North Sumatra’s Mount Sinabung, with an alert level of awas (danger), the highest level, and Bali’s Mount Agung, at siaga, alert level three, will be continuously monitored throughout the Ramadhan and Idul Fitri holiday season.

White smoke has been spewing from the crater of Mount Sinabung. The Geology Agency sent an emergency response team to the location to strengthen 24-hour monitoring activities, coordinate with local parties and communicate directly with local residents.

Between May 31 and June 3 this year, the agency recorded several earthquakes, including a 5.1-magnitude earthquake 115 kilometers northeast of Southeast Maluku; a 5.1-magnitude earthquake 66 kilometers northwest of West Halmahera in North Maluku; and a 5.8-magnitude earthquake northeast of the Talaud Islands, North Sulawesi.

None of the earthquakes have the potential to cause a tsunami. However, local residents have been advised to stay on alert for aftershocks that would hit at a lower strength.

Source: Jakarta Post

Photo courtesy of Getty Images

Related posts

Gang Leader Gets Death Penalty for Teen’s Rape and Murder

Nadya Joy Ador

(No) Stranger in the Third Culture Kid’s Homeland

Grace Susetyo

Two Indonesian Airports Won Awards for Service Quality

Sania Rasyid